• Welcome to the Department of World Languages!
     
    Sam Yi  
     
     
     
    backpack     
     
     
    Our Department Mission Statement: 
                                  
                                 "Speaking a second language can open the world for you"
     
    We offer three languages in the department of World Languages:  French, Italian and Spanish. Here are a few suggestions we would like to share with you for a successful year:
    • There is homework every night
    • There is extra help before, during  and after school
    • Daily review of notes
    • Do not wait until the night before to study, it should be done on a daily basis!
     
     
     
    What are the benefits of knowing a second language?
    • Students of world languages score statistically higher on standardize tests conducted in English.
    • In most cases, learning another language enhances a child's English ability.
    • Students of world languages have an access to a greater number of career possibilities.
    • Americans fluent in other languages enhance our economic competitiveness abroad, improve our global  communication, and maintain our political and security interests.
    • Knowing a second language ultimately provides a competitive advantage in the workforce by opening up additional job opportunities. 

     

     

    Contact Information:   Office number -  (516) 488 - 9625         E-mail addresses:

     

    Ms. Acevedo - eacevedo@sewanhakaschools.org      Mrs.  LaGallo - alagallo@sewanhakaschools.org

    Mrs. Acosta - iacosta@sewanhakaschools.org           Mrs. Madruga - nmadruga@sewanhakaschools.org

    Mrs. Bascetta - lbascetta@sewanhakaschools.org     Mr. Nieves - enieves@sewanhakaschools.org

    Mrs. Farina - sfarina@sewanhakaschools.org            Mrs. Menendez - amenendez@sewanhakaschools.org 

    Mr. Gonzalez - jgonzalez@sewanhakaschools.org     Ms. Perrin - aperrin@sewanhakaschools.org

    Mrs. Graci - cgraci@sewanhakaschools.org