• 1

    Dr. James Grossane
    Superintendent of Schools



    The Sewanhaka Central High School District serves the four independent communities of Elmont, Floral Park-Bellerose, Franklin Square and New Hyde Park-Garden City Park. This district serves one of the most culturally, economically and ethnically diverse groups of students in New York State. Families from more than 85 nations speaking over 100 distinct languages send children to our schools. Their socio-economic background varies. In addition, unlike typical K-12 districts, Sewanhaka consists of only junior-senior high schools. We share responsibility for K-12 education with four other independent elementary school districts, and must coordinate our children's transition from elementary school to secondary school with four independent entities, each with its own unique programs.

    All five of our high schools are National Blue Ribbon Schools of Excellence.  It is our intention to capitalize on the central high school district structure, and provide the best possible education at the most economical cost. Together we will continue to provide our students with the opportunity to accomplish great things.

    Secretarial Asst./District Clerk- Ms. Joanne Murnane

    Principal Typist Clerk - Ms. Helen Hoffman