Return to Headlines

Class of 2017 Bids Farewell to H. Frank Carey

H. Frank Carey’s senior class, along with their family members, friends and local dignitaries, celebrated their commencement on June 25.  
Those in attendance heard speeches from Class of 2017 advisers Lysaundra Bisal and Bridget Catapano, senior class president Erica Vissichelli and  
salutatorian Eric Jiang, who told fellow classmates to make everything they do worthwhile.
“Learn things that you are interested in. Do things that you enjoy. Make happiness a goal. Did you know that every time you sigh, a little bit of happiness escapes? Search for that rose-colored life that you want to have. Learn to persist and overcome obstacles. If something doesn’t work, then switch your approach to the problem. Every time you struggle, you’re training yourself to become mentally stronger. Everything is up to you, my peers, to be able to adapt, to endure and to live on.”
Valedictorian Maira Khan reflected on how young adults her age are perceived by others.
“Named by many, the laziest and least able generation of all time, we sure have earned a reputation for ourselves. But graduates for every so-called lazy internet crazed millennial I hear about, I see a hungry, passionate leader – whose dreams are not deferred but buried under piles of debt, prejudice and the privilege of others. They say we are quiet and inactive — but we are not — we are silenced, smothered. We possess an insatiable desire to do and feel and achieve – we can’t. It has become clearer than ever that justice and opportunity are not as evenly distributed as our dreams,” she said. “But graduates today, this is not their beginning, this is ours. Today I look at the most outstanding class to graduate in years. You exude brilliance and integrity.”
Principal Christopher Fiore congratulated the graduates and presented the James A. DeSonne Award to Tyler DeMeo, the John E. London Award to Tara Faraone, the Principal’s Award to Nicholas Zaromatidis and the Hall of Fame Award to Vissichelli. Longtime Board of Education trustee Jean Fichtl was also recognized for her years of service to the district’s students.
Other notable speakers at the ceremony included Superintendent Dr. Ralph Ferrie, U.S. Senator Charles Schumer and keynote speaker, Class of 2007 graduate Annmarie Hordern, who told students that as they embark on their future “the journey is more fulfilling than the destination.”
The momentous ceremony concluded with the conferring of diplomas and the singing of the school’s alma mater.