Return to Headlines

Academy of Finance Hosts Graduation Dinner

The district’s Academy of Finance celebrated its 29th annual graduation dinner on June 19 at the Stewart Manor Country Club. The evening began with Christine Teetz, Academy of Finance program manager of New Hyde Park Memorial High School, introducing the guest speakers, Advisory Board members, administration and faculty in attendance. 

At the dinner, Academy of Finance alumni Gerald Picard (Class of 2003) and Sabrina Rodgers (Class of 2014) returned as guest speakers to share their own personal journey and advice for the graduates. Each speaker was wonderful, sharing their own personal journey in the Academy of Finance program and the impact that the academy has had and continues to have on their lives. 

It is truly rewarding to hear our Academy of Finance graduates share their success stories with our students,” said AOF Principles of Management and Marketing teacher Debra Stein-Silberlust. “In their own way, each speaker discussed how they felt that much of their success could be attributed to the invaluable knowledge, skills and abilities they gained through the Academy of Finance program at New Hyde Park Memorial High School. On behalf of the Academy of Finance Advisory Board, faculty and students, we thank the alumni for giving back to the Academy of Finance program.” 

A number of awards, monetary scholarships and certificates were presented throughout the evening. 

Valedictorian Katherine Procacci and salutatorian Aarman Jivraj were awarded citations from Legislator Richard Nicolello. 

New Hyde Park Memorial High School Principal Dr. Richard Faccio presented the Principal’s Award to Joanna Mauceri for outstanding citizenship, leadership and service. 

The two new John Paccione Advisory Board Chairperson Legacy Awards were presented to Ciara Daly and Geena Gardena in honor of their many academic and extra-curricular achievements. Marina Pappas received the Michael S. Krolick Program Manager’s Award. 

Academy of Finance teacher and New Hyde Park School Store adviser Mrs. Lyn Riley presented Sarah Abraham and Aarman Jivraj with this year’s School Store Awards. 

The Greater New Hyde Park Chamber of Commerce awarded $500 scholarships to Katherine Procacci and Aarman Jivraj in recognition of their hard work in the Academy of Finance and hours of community service. 

The Pete Mathison State Farm Insurance Agency presented a $250 scholarship to Sarah Abraham for her overall academic achievement and her plan to select business as a major in college.

Angela Fulgieri and the Fulgieri family offered the Alfonso Fulgieri Accounting Achievement Award to graduating senior Joshua Destin for his achievement in accountancy. 

Medical Receivables Billing Group presented a $100 Book Award to Justin Murillo.

The Kenneth Abrahams Memorial Scholarship was presented by advisory board member Christopher Vulpis in honor of his deceased co-worker, Kenneth Abrahams. Congratulations to Erin Patrick and Brianna Platia, who each received a $250 scholarship.

Lastly, the Certificates of Financial Studies were presented by Board of Education President David Del Santo, Superintendent of Schools Dr. Ralph Ferrie, Dr. Faccio, District Coordinator of Business Education Christine Licastri and Business/Technology Chairperson Mrs. Debra Stein-Silberlust. 

This very special evening concluded with a slideshow presentation prepared by senior Sarah Abraham. 

Congratulations to the Academy of Finance Class of 2019:

Aiden Abraham

Sarah Joy Abraham

Ciara Ann Daly  

Tyler Dauble 

Darius Davis 

Joshua C. Destin 

Guntash Pal Duggal 

Jaskiran Jassica Duggal 

Billy Joseph Estapinian 

Geena Gabrielle Gardella  

Benjamin B. George 

Sean P. Gordon 

Isha Ilyas 

Jack Thomas Ingoglia  

Aarman Parvez Jivraj 

Abhay Marocha 

Nicholas Marsh 

Joanna Rose Mauceri 

Ajamu I. Mckenzie 

Justin Murillo 

Marina Constantina Pappas  

Erin Nobel Patrick 

Brianna Platia 

Katherine May Procacci 

Vincent A. Puccio 

Amarilis M. Thompson  

Best wishes to all! May your futures be bright! 

This year’s Graduation Dinner was made possible by contributions from the following Advisory Board members and their organizations: 

Peter Caputo s ERA Caputo Realty 

Richard DeMartino s New Hyde Park Chamber of Commerce 

Mary Durkin s Vaughn College of Aeronautics and Technology 

Cheryl Fajardo s Prepaid Ventures/NexsCard  

Angela Fulgieri s Island Federal Credit Union 

Christopher Gomoka s Academy of Finance Alumni 

David Goodman s Mass Mutual Financial Group 

Samantha Grenier s Northwell Health 

Michael S. Krolick s Retired Academy of Finance Program Manager 

Peter E. Mathison s State Farm 

Timothy P. McCue s Valley National Bank 

Nancy Ortiz s Medical Receivables Billing Group Inc. 

John Paccione s Advisory Board Chairperson 

Joshua H. Printz s HSBC Bank 

Scott Silberlust s Northwell Health 

Christopher Vulpis s Rosenblatt, Levittan, Vulpis, Goetz & Co. 

Sincere appreciation is extended to the above companies, individuals and organizations for their generous financial contributions to the Graduation Dinner and Awards Ceremony.