Return to Headlines

National Merit Students & BOE Honored

It was a night of celebration at Sewanhaka High School on Oct. 22 as seniors from throughout the district were recognized for their exceptional PSAT performances. Approximately 1.5 million students in 22,000 high schools entered the 2020 National Merit Program when they took their PSAT exams in October 2018.

“We are very proud to recognize these wonderful district seniors, and we ask that you join us in extending or congratulations for a job very well done,” Superintendent of School Dr. James Grossane said. “All of these seniors show outstanding academic promise and dedication to their educational pursuits, and we wish them all the very best of luck.”

Also, District Clerk Eleanor Moore read a message from Governor Andrew Cuomo about School Board Recognition Week, which is from Oct. 21-25, 2019. In the message, Cuomo thanked board members for their continued dedication to children, learning and community. Dr. Grossane echoed those sentiments, and each board member was presented with tokens of gratitude. The Sewanhaka Central Council of PTAs also thanked the board for their continued service, and they presented gifts as well.

The following seniors were honored for their PSAT performances:

National Merit Semifinalist Scholars
1) Yican Zhang- H. Frank Carey
2) Megha Gopal- New Hyde Park Memorial

National Merit Commended Scholars

1) Anna C. Craig- Floral Park Memorial

2) Maya Goss- Floral Park Memorial

3) Hammad lzhar- Floral Park Memorial

4) Gwynne E. Smith- Floral Park Memorial

5) Jeri Stiklickas- H. Frank Carey

6) Gary Faraone, Jr.- H. Frank Carey

7) Mithul George- New Hyde Park Memorial

8) Kathleen B. Gray- New Hyde Park Memorial

9) Saba Guizar- New Hyde Park Memorial

10)Pranav S. Kengeri- New Hyde Park Memorial

11)Allison C. Marzano- New Hyde Park Memorial

12)Victoria A. McGuigan- New Hyde Park Memorial

13)Alex C. O' Keefe- New Hyde Park Memorial

14)Adam S. Romanelli- New Hyde Park Memorial

15)Matthew A. Schneider- New Hyde Park Memorial

National Achievement Hispanic Recognition Program Scholar

1) Ruben Fonseca- H. Frank Carey

2) Dario A. Gimenez- New Hyde Park Memorial