Return to Headlines

SAT Prep Course

Dear Junior Class Parents/Guardians and Students:

During the school day on April 13th, 2021, the Sewanhaka Central High School District will be administering the SAT exam to all 11th grade students throughout the District.  Since many colleges require SAT scores for admission, we will again be offering an SAT Preparation course, however this year it will be “virtual.” Students will be meeting with their instructors via Google Meet. The course code and login information will be provided before the course begins. The course will concentrate on test format, specialized instruction in math, verbal and writing skills, as well as test-taking strategies.

Registration for the SAT Prep course will take place at each high school beginning the week of February 8th, 2021.  Registration is limited to a first come-first served basis. The cost per student is $150, which includes 4 hours per week of detailed instruction, plus all test preparation materials.  Students must supply their own calculator, highlighter, headphones, pens and pencils for the course and exam. The courses will begin the week of February 22, 2021 and run for six weeks, with breaks for school holidays.

Two Important Reminders:

1. Each school in the District organizes its own course schedule.

2. Students must register for the SAT exam on their own. Please see the Guidance Dept.

Registration will be February 8th - February 12th only. Registration forms may be returned by emailing a completed form to the finance clerk at your building (and CC: the liaison listed below), by having their child drop it off with the finance clerk in the main office, or by completing an online form HERE.. Payment can be sent in with your child and delivered to the finance clerk, through your Myschoolbucks account, or by mailing in a check to the finance clerk of your school.

Students qualifying for free or reduced lunch are eligible for tuition reductions.

If you have any questions, please speak to the appropriate person at your school:

Elmont

Principal’s Secretary: Ms. Mary Ann Kilroy - (516) 488-9200 ext. 1798

mkilroy@sewanhakaschools.org

Building Liaison: Ms. Irina Kimyagarov (Math Chairperson) - (516) 488-9200 ext. 9235

ikimyagarov@sewanhakaschools.org

Floral Park

Finance Clerk: Ms. Josephine Bacarella - (516) 488-9300 ext. 9305

jbacarella@sewanhakaschools.org

Building Liaison: Ms. Marcella Fini-Jackman (Math Chairperson) - (516) 488-9326

mfini-jackman@sewanhakaschools.org

H. Frank Carey

Finance Clerk: Ms. Gina Sampogna - (516) 539-9400 ext. 9405

gsampogna@sewanhakaschools.org

Building Liaison: Mr. Robert Pontecorvo (Math Chairperson) - (516) 539-9426

pontecorvo@sewanhakaschools.org

New Hyde Park

Finance Clerk: Ms. Janet Grech - (516) 488-9500 ext. 9507

jgrech@sewanhakaschools.org

Building Liaison: Mrs. Melissa Argaman (Guidance Counselor) – (516) 488-9552

margaman@sewanhakaschools.org

Sewanhaka

Finance Clerk: Ms. Trish Monahan - (516) 488-9600 ext. 9699

pmonahan@sewanhakaschools.org

Building Liaison: Ms. Patricia Aiello (Math Chairperson) - (516) 488-9626

paiello@sewanhakaschools.org

 

There will be no sessions held on March 29 - March 31 & April 1st - April 2nd due to Spring Recess.  There will be no sessions held on April 5th due to a school holiday.

Sincerely,

Scott Colvin          

District SAT Prep Facilitator

 

Dr. Taryn Johnson

Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction