People standing together and smiling as three people hold certificates

New Hyde Park Memorial High School students Izhaan Ahmed, Priya Persaud and Paul Wang were recognized as finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program. Each year, 1.5 million high school students across the nation enter the National Merit Scholarship Program and 15,000 students are selected as finalists. Approximately 7,250 finalists are then chosen to receive a Merit Scholarship award.